Back to Top

bnnr news

posticon Editorial - Name Calling

Opinions | Friday, October 13, 2017 | By Dan Veaner Print
0
0
0
s2smodern
Editorial

The disconnect between what I write and what I think seems to stretch as elections draw near.  I could create a political response bot that would effectively argue with itself, never listening to its own opposing views, but spewing the same old arguments endlessly until November 8th, at which time it would self-destroy only after spawning a new copy of itself for the 2018 election season.

What I write is supposed to be balanced in tone as well as bias, and I do strive for that.  But what I think is no such thing.  It is not that I am partisan.  It's that I am jaded.  The biased letters, responses to articles, public and private statements are just so predictable.  Predictable is not interesting.  It may make the source feel better, but I don't think it is particularly interesting.  Did I say that I am jaded?

Read more ...

posticon Thoughts - Kick the Can

Opinions | Friday, October 13, 2017 | By Casey Stevens Print
0
0
0
s2smodern
CaseythoughtsNot yet being in receipt of any overnight reviews from my first contribution to the Lansing Star Online, I'll once again dive deeply into another topic that has been on my mind for, say, almost twenty years. I have watched and participated in this topic since at least the mid-nineteen nineties, if not earlier. I'll call it 'I told you so', or, perhaps, more succinctly, 'Kick the can down the road.' To wit, the Tompkins County jail issue.

This past week the county administrator informed you, dear Tompkins County taxpayer, that the time had come to pay up, put up: NY state had finally closed the door on one more extension of permission for the inadequate facility known as the Tompkins County Public Safety building. The Jail. More than fifteen years of boarding out prisoners and state waivers for the facility was going to come to an end as of December 31, 2017. This demand by NY State would, according to Mr. Mareane cost Tompkins County taxpayers somewhere in the neighborhood of $500,000 a year. Such a number from the county's head bean-counter is believable and sobering to say the least, but certainly not surprising, as this amount had been bandied about for years, in opposition to what an expanded facility might cost (which costs also went up yearly).

Read more ...

posticon Letters An Innovative Workforce Will Drive Our Economy, Boost Businesses

Opinions | Friday, October 13, 2017 | By Senator Pam Helming Print
0
0
0
s2smodern
helming120Since taking office in January, it has been one of my foremost priorities to help support our business community throughout the Finger Lakes region. I have toured a number of businesses throughout our region to see all of the incredible work companies are doing, to better understand needs that are unique to their industry, and to identify how the state can help their companies thrive.

One of the greatest challenges facing companies is the lack of available or interested skilled labor. More and more, manufacturing and production companies are finding it increasingly difficult to find skilled workers, and as a result, it is hindering their ability to grow and maximize their full potential.


Read more ...

posticon Letters - Sigler for a Better Lansing

Opinions | Friday, October 13, 2017 | By Dick Costello Print
0
0
0
s2smodern
mailmanI hunt and fish and consider myself an environmentalist and conservationist. If I wasn't, the sports I cherish would be impossible. That's why I found a letter to the editor in last week's Lansing Star so disheartening. A self-proclaimed environmentalist decided to abandon her stances for partisanship.

The writer says she cannot support Mike Sigler because he supports increasing natural gas supply in Lansing, to end the moratorium, and a pipeline to repower the Cayuga power plant. According to a letter mailed two weeks ago by the democrat running for the County Legislature in Lansing, so does Sigler's democratic opponent.

Read more ...

posticon Letters - Robbed at gunpoint by the Town of Lansing

Opinions | Friday, October 13, 2017 | By Hugh Bahar Print
0
0
0
s2smodern
mailmanA subsidized development across from the ball fields.

What happens if we, as Lansing taxpayers, refuse to subsidize the developer's profits, increased traffic jams/accidents, increased light pollution, increased taxes (very likely), possibly increased crime, the possibility of a dump-and-run developer and other burdens we'll be forced to bear...and we revolt by withholding all or part of our taxes? In other words, when our Town Board refuses to listen, we vote with our wallets and refuse to subsidize their "vision".

Read more ...

posticon Letters - Casey Steven's Minute of Silence

Opinions | Friday, October 13, 2017 | By Marc Catone Print
0
0
0
s2smodern
mailmanI have twice read Casey Steven's proposal that a minute of silence "stand down" from the media, and those of us who read and listen to it, will restore civility and make us realize that opposing views are destroying our country. I see no sense in it.

How could that possibly accomplish anything? Everyone being silent for a minute isn't going to diffuse what is basically the second civil war happening in our country today. The idea lacks substance.

Read more ...

posticon Letters - What did Cree and Dake do as Town Board members?

Opinions | Friday, October 13, 2017 | By Gregory Lawrence Print
0
0
0
s2smodern
mailmanIn a few weeks, Lansing residents will vote to fill two seats on the Town Board. The incumbent candidates are Robert Cree and Doug Dake and the challengers are Walla Maharem-Horan and Joseph Wetmore. Not knowing Walla and Joseph, it is hard for me to determine precisely what they will achieve if elected. That is normal when someone does not have a record of accomplishment in public office. It should be easier to assess the achievements of Robert and Doug since they have been in office for the last four years. Unfortunately, the lack of any standard job performance reports for Town Board members makes it very difficult to know what they are qualified to do, the committees they serve on, how often they attend or miss meetings, and how they go about earning their annual salary.

Read more ...