Back to Top

bnnr news

posticon Editorial - Local Votes Do Matter

Opinions | Friday, October 19, 2018 | By Dan Veaner Print
Pin It
Editorial

Don't they say 'every vote matters'?  They do, but voter turnout in the united States implies that many Americans don't believe their vote counts.  With Donald Trump dominating social media posts and Ithaca and Tompkins County being what they are, it's hard to believe this.  A recent analysis of the 50 states and District of columbia by Wallethub has determined that new York is the 8th least politically engaged state.  New York had the 4th lowest percent of registered voters in the 2016 Presidential election, and the third lowest percentage of midterm election voters in 2014. 

Our country as a whole doesn't do all that well either, ranking only 26th out of 32 member countries in the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).  According to a PEW Research Center report released last May, Belgium had the best voter turnout and Turkey the worst.

Pin It

Read more ...

posticon Thoughts - Hatred Dividing America

Opinions | Friday, October 19, 2018 | By Casey Stevens Print
Pin It
Caseythoughts The Kavanaugh Senate hearings (the Ithaca High School Tattler newspaper said it better: The 'Supreme Court ordeal') left me drained. Almost speechless. Not that I've 'been around' forever, but I have not seen anything in this country so demeaning and damaging to our national psyche as these past few weeks (you know, even the Watergate hearings had some civility to them).

There is a true hatred unleashed in this country and I am not sure that any country can survive hatred. Division, yes, of course, but we have survived division in the past, especially noteworthy were our sixties. But, maybe, on second thought, we didn't quite 'survive' the pains and divisiveness of the sixties: maybe we just put it all on ice during the seventies (certainly no one wanted to be reminded of VietNam in the mid-seventies). The racial divide, the war, Johnson, Nixon, Chicago, the social upheaval didn't just fade away like yesterday's hit songs after traumas like Kent State, after the Paris 'peace' accord, after the race riots. After Watergate.

Pin It

Read more ...

posticon Letters - Maura Kennedy-Smith for Lansing Town Justice

Opinions | Friday, October 19, 2018 | By Pat Pryor Print
Pin It
mailmanEditor, The Lansing Star:

In our local campaign for Town Justice much has been made of the notion that one candidate is preferable to the other(s) because he is a long-time resident of Lansing with'deep ties' to the community. In truth, every candidate has strong ties to Lansing through work, family, the schools, or simple longevity. However, some would draw the conclusion that because of these 'long ties', a particular candidate would be a better choice for Town Justice. Somehow, length of time in Lansing is supposed to cancel out the benefit to Lansing residents of having a Justice who is professionally qualified and experienced as opposed to one who has lived here longer.

Pin It

Read more ...

posticon Letters - In support of Dick Costello for Lansing Town Justice

Opinions | Friday, October 19, 2018 | By Olympia McFall Print
Pin It
mailmanAlthough I am not a resident of the Town of Lansing, I am proud to add my support for Dick Costello in his bid for Lansing Town Justice. I have known Dick and his family since 1995 when I had the opportunity to be a participant in his group golf lessons at Cornell University's Robert Trent Jones Golf Course. Dick was the PGA Pro and Manager of the Golf Course Pro Shop at that time. Also, at that time he was in need of a part-time clerk in the Pro Shop. When offered the job, I was happy to be hired and work with other long-time clerks in the shop for a period of five years. The friendships formed in the 1990's are still going strong today.

Pin It

Read more ...

posticon Letters - Maura Kennedy-Smith for Lansing Town Justice

Opinions | Friday, October 19, 2018 | By Ted Laux Print
Pin It
mailmanI strongly support Maura Kennedy-Smith for Lansing Town Justice.

Your editorial last week incorrectly stated that New York says legal background doesn't matter when electing judges. Just because the law does not require judges to have a legal background does not mean that a legal background is not a huge asset for a judge.

Pin It

Read more ...

posticon Letters - Lansing Town Justice

Opinions | Friday, October 19, 2018 | By Eva Deibert Print
Pin It
mailmanI couldn't be happier to recommend Richard Costello for Town Justice in the Town of Lansing. I have known Mr. Costello for 20+ years and can confidently say that he is a person of impeccable character. Ever since we first met, Richard's incredible teaching skills have always impressed me.

He is responsible, motivated and possesses empathy and insight. For years as the PGA Golf Professional he led the Cornell Golf Team to many victories and has wonderful leadership qualities. Richard instructed new comers to hunting by teaching Gun Safety for many years.

Pin It

Read more ...

posticon Letters - Maura Kennedy-Smith for Town Justice

Opinions | Friday, October 19, 2018 | By JoAnne Miner Print
Pin It
mailmanI support Maura Kennedy-Smith for Lansing Town Justice. She has the training and experience to fill that important role immediately, and to fill it well. Ms. Kennedy-Smith is an attorney who has represented clients and who now is the law clerk for one of our Tompkins County judges.

Pin It

Read more ...

posticon Letters - Town Justice

Opinions | Friday, October 19, 2018 | By Mary Yaple Print
Pin It
mailmanDear Editor,

It's vital that we vote our values and for that reason I am urging Lansing residents to elect Maura Kennedy-Smith Lansing Town Justice on November 6th.

Pin It

Read more ...