Pin It

Governor Andrew M. Cuomo today announced the installation of cashless tolling at all fixed-price toll barriers on the New York State Thruway is now complete. With cashless tolling now live at the Spring Valley and New Rochelle locations, the conversion of all seven barriers marks a significant milestone in the Governor's goal to convert the entire New York State Thruway to cashless tolling by the end of 2020.

"Cashless tolling is helping transform our state's transportation infrastructure and creating a state-of-the-art, reliable highway system that meets the needs of 21st century commuters," Cuomo said. "These new cashless barriers will ease congestion for millions of motorists each year and help strengthen the region's economy by increasing access to local communities."

Originally announced in June 2018, cashless tolling is now fully operational at all seven of the Thruway's fixed-price toll barriers. The following barriers no longer accept cash payment:
  • Gov. Mario M. Cuomo Bridge (I-87/I-287)
  • North and South Grand Island Bridges (I-190)
  • Harriman Toll Barrier (I-87)
  • Yonkers Toll Barrier (I-87)
  • Spring Valley Toll Barrier (I-87 - Commercial Vehicles Only)
  • New Rochelle (I-95)

In 2017, more than 109 million vehicles traveled through the Thruway's seven fixed-price barriers, accounting for more than 40 percent of Thruway toll revenue. The conversion to cashless tolling is expected to save commuters approximately 200 minutes annually.

Motorists traveling through the Thruway's seven fixed-price barriers will now drive under a gantry with state-of-the-art sensors and cameras that read E-ZPass tags and take license plate images so vehicles no longer have to stop to pay the toll.

Vehicles with E-ZPass tags are automatically charged and vehicles without E-ZPass tags will have their license plate image captured and a toll bill mailed to the registered owner of each vehicle. Customers who pay using Tolls By Mail will pay the same toll rate as previously paid by cash customers, and E-ZPass customers with New York accounts will continue to receive a five percent discount.

Thruway Authority Executive Director Matthew J. Driscoll said, "Nearly half of the more than 268 million motorists that rely on the Thruway to get to their destinations each year no longer have to stop at a toll booth to pay their toll, speeding up their commutes and easing congestion. As the transition to cashless tolling system-wide continues by the end of 2020, we urge motorists to sign up for E-ZPass, the most convenient and cost-effective way to pay tolls along the Thruway and across the state."

The Thruway will convert to cashless tolling system-wide by the end of 2020. The Thruway Authority encourages all drivers to sign up for E-ZPass. All drivers, no matter of residency, can sign up for a New York E-ZPass account at; at E-ZPass Customer Service Centers; or by calling the E-ZPass Toll Free Customer Service Center at 1-800-333-TOLL (8655). E-ZPass On-the-Go tags can be purchased at 26 Thruway Service Areas system-wide and more than 800 locations across the state, including select grocery and convenience stores, government offices and state-operated DMV offices, and select cash toll lanes across the Thruway's 570-mile system.

Tolls By Mail is used to collect toll payment from those without E-ZPass. Motorists are required to maintain updated address information with the Department of Motor Vehicles. Drivers who receive a bill can pay it online in a few short steps at the Tolls By Mail website, by mail or over the phone. Payment options include check, credit card or direct withdrawal from a bank account. Customers who call **826 from most mobile devices will receive a text message with a link to the Tolls By Mail website and information on how to set up a 'Pay Toll Now' account.

Pin It