Pin It
cbcrow_120Niskayuna, NY – The New York State Scholastic Rowing Association recently announced high school rowing teams and clubs, including Ithaca’s Cascadilla Boat Club varsity boys and girls, recognized as Fall 2012 NYSSRA Scholar/Athlete Teams.   Local students were among those honored.  Cascadilla Boat Club’s Girls’ and Boys’ Teams, led by Head Coach Marina Traub, earned Scholar/Athlete Team status.

Ithaca area student rowers honored are: Michaela Brew, Ellie Cramton, Carrie D’Aprix, Ava Dodge Staff, Marlena Doerr, Rori Henderson, Clara Karastury, Alexandra Kilts, Jessie Liu, Narissa McCarty, Molly Pritz, Zsofia Szegletes, Megan Wallace, Katie White, Elizabeth Yearsley, Andrew Bezirganian, Andrew Culver, Henry Ellis, Gabriel Falk, Gracen Glabitz, Andrew Jin, Matt Kehoe, Noah Leonard, Kupono Liu, Makana Liu, and Jonathan Overton. The rowers attend Ithaca High School, Lehman Alternative, and Lansing High School.

Cascadilla Boat Club, a nonprofit organization located in Ithaca, New York, strives to provide the best possible crew experience to any young person in the Ithaca area who has the desire to row competitively.  The CBC Scholastic Program offers rowing programs for students grades 6-12, with three separate squads: Modified, Freshman/Novice, and Varsity.  CBC Varsity Teams train mornings before school beginning in August and row competitively fall and spring. Rowers also train winters and summers.

The New York State Scholastic Rowing Association’s (NYSSRA) Scholar/Athlete Team Award Program was created to acknowledge the academic achievements of New York State’s scholastic rowers.  Implemented in 2009 and awarded at the end of each spring and fall season, the program recognizes nominated varsity high school teams and clubs who meet certain criteria, including at team grade point average of 90.000% or above during the current competitive season.   “New York State’s scholastic rowers continue to show their ability to achieve scholastic success even while training for and competing in this demanding sport,” said NYSSRA president Chris Chase.  “The NYSSRA is pleased to recognize this season’s Scholar/Athlete teams.”

Pin It